NHL Player Kit License

OV#8

Sorry if this isn't the proper forum to post this but I've always wondered how does the licensing for player kits work?

Surely there must be a fee to use NHLPA names on jerseys? They want to protect their product and brand.

Maybe someone in the business can enlighten us.

I have some experience with these issues because I have studied them in law school (I graduate this May) and I am currently working in a law firm's intellectual property and trademark group.

I am not sure if I fully understand what you are concerned about:

Are you wondering why you aren't charged a fee for a player kit when you get it customized at NHL.com, or EPS, or when you buy a kit on Ebay?

What is likely boils down to is that the companies which make kits, customize jerseys, etc. are almost certainly licensees of the NHL or Reebok. I imagine that they pay a fee in order to use the fonts, numbers, and other unique source identifiers of the teams in the NHL (or whatever league) and Reebok. My guess is that the overall licensing is done by Reebok because they design the jerseys and fonts if I am not mistaken, and they split the licensing revenue with the respective leagues.

As to why the players are not compensated individually, or as a group through the NHLPA, my belief is that they are. I'm sure that the NHLPA receives a portion of the merchandising revenue the league receives, but is it limited to jerseys or more specifically, jerseys which individual player's names on them? I really doubt it.

Players certainly want to protect their brand, but within the confines of their name being associated with how it is portrayed on league apparel (for instance, jerseys or shirts with the team's logo) they likely sign waivers as part of their employment allowing the league to use their name in a number of ways.