The 2009 NCAA Tournament

lafountain

Bemidji State? The home of Beaver Pride is in the tourney?

They got one of the two "Lame-O Conference AutoBids™"

I'll be at the Minneapolis Regional (your temporary Home of the Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs) next Friday and Saturday. If by chance anyone is going to be there, give me a shout.

Don't be mad just because the Gophers didn't make it. :P

Air Force ended up 14th in the Pairwise so they aren't just there because of the auto-bid. There isn't going to be one for CHA next year anyways.

On a jersey note I wish Nike would make replicas of the smaller NCAA teams like UMD.

Edited by guam64

I think it will be a good tournament this year. I lucked out, it is my first year in D.C. after graduating from Notre Dame and the frozen four is here this year. ND has to hold up their end of the bargain though and not screw up in the Midwest Regional and make it here.

I'm thinking that this is the year for our first national title! GO IRISH!

I am definitely excited for this year despite RPI and Mich State not being in the tourney. As an ECAC fan I say watch out for Yale. They are really fast and tough and I expect them to definitely make the Frozen Four.

I just witnessed "The Great Escape" in Minneapolis.

Minnesota-Duluth was down 4-2 with a 1:05 to play when Princeton got a high sticking penalty. Duluth pulled their goaltender for a 6-4 advantage and was able to score with 39.5 seconds to play to make it 4-3.

With 12.4 seconds to go and Duluth pressuring, the ref calls for a faceoff outside the Princeton zone, seemingly killing any chance Duluth has to equalize.

However...

Duluth wins the faceoff and dumps the puck into the corner

tick...tick...tick...

and then shoots it behind the goal...

tick...tick...tick...

where the puck is shot out from behind the net to the right of the Princeton goalie for one final, desperation shot...

...tick...tick...

and the shot goes in!!! And the clock reads...

"0.8"