Penguins CCM 3rd jersey ultrafil

jdt

Hi,

I'm new to all this, am a huge Penguins fan and am looking for a 1996 CCM Ultrafil jersey to no avail. The following season they appear to use Starter, is they're any difference between the two (not a fan of Airknit at all). I'm a novice to all this, so any info would be great.

Thanks,

J

The Pens' 3rd jerseys in 1995-96 were air-knit rather than ultrafil. They only became ultrafil after the switch to Starter the year after. The same can be said for the Canucks and Kings(I think) that first year of the alternate: Ultrafil home/roads, air-knit 3rds.

The CCM 3rds from 1996 were actually airknit, not ultrafil. You can find a lot of these as replicas, but authentics are nearly impossible to find, as I don't believe they were ever sold at retail, kind of like the Burger Kings and Wild Wings. The Starters were airknits too, although the hole pattern for Starter material was somewhat different from the CCM.

Thanks guys, great info! So are all the Starter and ProPlayer versions of that jersey AirKnit then, or at least until they went to CCM/KOHO. I'm not a fan of these branded ones as I think they're AirKnit and it was a a sad time to be a Penguins fan...

Brilliant! may know something that I don't, but as far as I know all the Starters, ProPlayers and even the Kohos in the 2000's were airknit.

I should clarify. in 1997-98, the Penguins actually used Starter ultrafil jerseys. The same with the Habs. That said, I've seen retail versions of the Penguins' ones in both Starter puffy-knit AND ultrafil so who knows?

Mike, I think the OP is referring only to the Starter 3rds, not the home/aways. I haven't seen an ultrafil Starter 3rd, have you?

I have indeed. I actually owned one a looooooong time ago. I believe it was a 1996-97 version with the S-star + wordmark Starter logo on the hem.

Well, I learned something new then. I've seen ultrafil and mesh home and away Pens Starters from around 1996-98, but never a 3rd.