Stripping a letter off a jersey question

Edge 2pointzero

So, I buy this Sakic Edge authentic for a GREAT deal, I figure because they screwed up and put the "C" in the wrong spot.

imagejpeg_2.jpg

Now a buddy of mine(I do NOT have the patience) spent about an hour per layer here taking these off.

And we find out why...its hiding a small hole in the jersey....wonderful.

But my question is this: what do I use to remove the glue residue from under the main layer? it basically kept the shape of the "C" of course.

I aploogize if this is posted elsewhere, but I dont want to just wash it and try to remove it blind. I am curious to see what you guys use for this.

Thanks guys

I know Mike (Brilliant) uses Goof Off to get glue residue out of a jersey, but too much of that can discolor the jersey. I'm no expert, but if the one on the right is the residue, I'm guessing you'e gonna have to use way too much of that stuff and risk ruining the jersey. You're probably screwed.

I know Mike (Brilliant) uses Goof Off to get glue residue out of a jersey, but too much of that can discolor the jersey. I'm no expert, but if the one on the right is the residue, I'm guessing you'e gonna have to use way too much of that stuff and risk ruining the jersey. You're probably screwed.

Its not, that was just the bottom layer sitting there. Its just a glue like substance underneath.

Nice placement on the "C" huh? that bottom layer pic was still sewn when this photo was taken.

DO NOT use Goof-Off on an EDGE jersey. I've been told from several others that it will stain the material.

Unfortunately, you might be boned on this one. Can you take a shot of the residue underneath?

DO NOT use Goof-Off on an EDGE jersey. I've been told from several others that it will stain the material.

Unfortunately, you might be boned on this one. Can you take a shot of the residue underneath?