Old Rangers Jerseys?

DropkickMurphy8

Hey guys,

Newbie here, first post. I'm eyeballing a NWT Rangers Gretzky jersey on eBay (of the starter incarnation), and it's obviously legit. However, there's another, CCM Gretzky on eBay from the late 90's with Gretzky sewn onto a nameplate. The Starter jersey doesn't have a nameplate that I can see, Gretzky is just sewn directly to the jersey. I'm just curious if it was normal for the Starter jerseys to have the names sewn directly onto the jersey as opposed to a nameplate. I know the '94 CCM Rangers jerseys didn't have nameplates on them, so I guess I'm also wondering if anyone can tell me approximately what year the Rangers added nameplates.

Thanks

Hey guys,

Newbie here, first post. I'm eyeballing a NWT Rangers Gretzky jersey on eBay (of the starter incarnation), and it's obviously legit. However, there's another, CCM Gretzky on eBay from the late 90's with Gretzky sewn onto a nameplate. The Starter jersey doesn't have a nameplate that I can see, Gretzky is just sewn directly to the jersey. I'm just curious if it was normal for the Starter jerseys to have the names sewn directly onto the jersey as opposed to a nameplate. I know the '94 CCM Rangers jerseys didn't have nameplates on them, so I guess I'm also wondering if anyone can tell me approximately what year the Rangers added nameplates.

Thanks

Welcome to the boards.

The Rangers didn't start using nameplates until the Reebok Edge era (2007 - present). Also Gretzky never wore CCM with the Rangers, his first season with the team was 1996-97, which was the first year the Rangers wore Starter.

As for the NWT Gretzky Starter you mentioned - just be wary of the blue lace-up Rangers Starter jersey (the also make a Messier variant) that are very common fakes. If it has a special Gretzky neck tag and/or a "set tag" in the inside hem, it's a knockoff. There are entire threads here dedicated to that particular Rangers fake.