Re-Focusing Collection

Devilsguy

I decided to start a new thread for this as I didn't see another that is exactly like this and interested to see what other people think and have done.

I have been collecting hockey jerseys in general for about 10 years and started collecting gamers about 5-6 years ago. Went strictly to gamers about 2 years ago and have been doing that since. I am bringing this up as since I started collecting gamers this is the first time I have done a fairly major re-focusing on what I collect and wanted to get other people's thoughts and their own experiences.

At first I didn't really have much of a focus other than being affordable and Devils. Then after a little bit I found a basic focus of where I concentrated on Devils players I had a personal connection to as well as unique or specialty night jerseys. Lately, I have found myself being unsatisfied with this focus, especially on the specialty night jersey portion and have decided to now just focus on Devils players who have either won a cup as a Devils, Devils jerseys with a unique story, or outright steal of a jersey.

I have found this focus to be a lot more satisfying as a collector as no longer will I paying through the nose for scrub players for a silly patch or design. A couple of months ago I was all in to going up to $1K for a Marty Night jersey, but now I don't even want to touch them with a 10 ft pole as I dread paying $800+ for a Schlemko 1-game wonder with a patch. My recent acquisitions like my new John Madden 1st NHL game and point jersey, my Ryan Carter 3/19/12 Rangers blood brawl jersey, and even my 08-09 Salvador that I got for $125 shipped gives me a lot more satisfaction than my Carter Niedermayer night patched jersey.

So has anyone else had major re-focusing(s)? What were the reasons for it? How many times have you done it as I see some people never changing their focus and some seemingly change every week. Always interested to hear these stories.